Playtime
Playtime Podcast
Playtime Podcast Episode 1
2
0:00
-57:47

Playtime Podcast Episode 1

with special guest Jane Smith of The World of Super Jane
2

Excited to be bringing you my first newsletter Playtime Podcast, where I sit down to chat with incredibly talented and inspiring creatives! I wanted to start this podcast by interviewing my friend, Jane Smith, of The World of Super Jane. Jane is an incredible writer and illustrator and I have been a massive fan of her work the second I met her. She always gives the best advice whenever I have a question about picture books, she is a fabulous travel partner, and just an all-around super human being.

Jane is trying something new. After publishing 8 picture books, the traditional publishing route, she is taking her new book, Naked Butt - Busts Out and self-publishing. I am excited for her and I am also intrigued by what made her decide to try this new approach. The curious creative in me wanted to learn more about her process and what made her decide to try self-publishing.

I decided to have Jane on the podcast for three visits. This month, we will learn more about Jane and how she got into publishing. In February, we will dive deep into the business of self-publishing and all the steps it takes; from writing and illustrating, designing the book, picking a self-publishing company, getting ISBN’s, to planning the launch. We will meet back here in September to hear about publication day and Jane’s experience after 6 months from release date.

I truly hope you enjoy this episode and that it might inspire you to give yourself permission to have the career that you want to have.


You can learn more about Jane by visiting her website

Naked Butt will be released on March 21, 2023 and is available for pre-order on the following sites:

Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Independent Booksellers and the ebook on Apple Books

For you and the kiddos, Jane has a Naked Butt Activity Kit full of fun activities!

2 Comments
Playtime
Playtime Podcast
playful interviews from the studio of Denise Holmes
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Denise Holmes
Jane Smith
Recent Episodes